CEGR President Sandeep Marwah in London Answered Basic Questions on Education

London: CEGR- Centre for Education Growth and Research President Dr Sandeep Marwah also Chancellor of AAFT University is in London attending different seminars and sessions where he was asked   to inform the basic    information on India’s education system. Answering the question Dr Marwah said that a chancellor is a leader of a college or university, usually either the executive or ceremonial head of the university or of a university campus within a university system.

He informed that the term ‘higher education’ with respect to India denotes the tertiary level education that is imparted after 12 years of schooling (10 years of primary education and 2 years of secondary education). The Department of Higher Education, MoE is responsible for the overall development of the basic infrastructure of Higher Education sector, both in terms of policy and planning.

 A professor is the highest academic title held at a college, university, or postsecondary institution. Professors are accomplished and recognized academics — and usually considered experts in their areas of interest

The top 6 States in terms of highest number of colleges in India are Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu and these States have more than 30 colleges per lakh population except Uttar Pradesh, which has the college density of 20 only.

The objective of higher education is to give both knowledge and wisdom. Educational system must find its guiding principle in the aims of the social order. It should inculcate democratic idealism among the learners.

The UGC`s mandate includes determining and maintaining standards of teaching, examination, and research in universities. Framing regulations on minimum standards of education. Monitoring developments in the field of collegiate and university education; disbursing grants to the universities and colleges.

There are three types of universities: Conventional Universities, Deemed Universities and Institutions of National Importance. While Conventional Universities are established through Act of Parliament or State Legislatures, Deemed Universities award degrees through the notification of the central government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *